Shree Yantra - Its Significance In Hinduism

Shri Yantra

Shree Yantra, also called Sri Chakra, is a mystical diagram used in Hinduism for veneration and other religious purposes. It consists of 9 interlocking triangles. Four of them are pointing upwards and are believed to represent Shiva. The remaining five are pointing downward and are believed to represent Shakti.

There are many interpretations of this diagram. One of them being that of Maha-Meru. When the two-dimensional Shree Yantra is represented in a three-dimensional figure, it is called Maha-Meru. Mount Meru is supposed to have got its name from this.

The literal meaning of Yantra is ‘Machine’ or a device. So, it is very obvious to interpret that Shree Yantra must have been a two-dimensional plan view of some kind of machine mentioned in the Vedas.

Shree Yantra has been described in Shree Shuktam in Rigveda. The worship of the Shree Yantra is central to the Sri Vidya worship in Hinduism. It represents the Goddess in the form of Devi Tripura Sundari, the owner of the three worlds - Bhu Lok, Bhuvar Lok and Swar Lok. The Sri Yantra is the symbol of Hinduism, which is based on the Hindu philosophy of the Vedas. The Sri Yantra is the object of devotion in Sri Vidya.

30 December 2022

Twitter Logo
Facebook Circle Logo

Copyright © Bibhuti Shankar Das, 2022 - 2023. All rights reserved.